My heart goes boom boom boom for Bonds

Anybody haven’t seen this Bonds ad? I love love love love….this ad so much! I love the color combination, the dance choreography, even their umbrellas! This somehow attract my attention when I come across this ad both online and offline. Then I thought, this must be a very great ad if it has successfully made me feel this way. I even visited their store to purchase some stuff in less than a week.

So, I decided to search for other people’s thoughts and comments about this ad, and it turns out to be quite mind blowing. Apparently people have very different thoughts. Here’s one of the top comments in YouTube, and other user voted for this comment as well.

Screen shot 2013-09-24 at 1.44.09 PM

And here’s one of my favorite replies.

Screen shot 2013-09-24 at 1.51.52 PM

After thinking further about it, Bonds must’ve had a pretty clear targeting for each of their ad and other marketing activities. This one I reckon is quite directly targeting towards customer group(s) that I’m in.Β From the comment above, it get me thinking about how different people perceive things differently, especially in terms of sexual imagery. This might be inappropriate for some groups of people, and shown by the comment below.

Screen shot 2013-09-24 at 1.51.53 PM

With this comment, I noticed that Dove did a campaign with regular women body shape, instead of skinny models’ size. For Bonds, this might be appropriate in some ways, but not for this one. With the current trend of people wanting to get healthier and fitter (not necessarily super skinny), watching this ad of Bonds could be inspiring. Plus, teenage girls do want to be associated with these models (they’re not very skinny anyway), to boost a sense of confidence.

PS: Those comments can be a challenge and ideas for Bonds too.

That’s my opinion. What do you think?

11 thoughts on “My heart goes boom boom boom for Bonds

  1. I love Bonds ads. They’re always creative. I understand what these people are saying, but i don’t think it’s sexual. Yes, they are un their underwear, that’s because of the product, but it doesn’t suggest anything sexual. It’s fun and playful. Even though Bonds has been around for a very long time, their target audience is different to that of Dove.

    • Definitely! That’s what I was trying to convey in the posy. Some ppl that’s probably not even in the target audience, they feel offended or think that it’s unfair to other girls.

  2. I love the bonds ads!! They’re always fun, catchy and happy. However I can understand about the creativity comment. Bonds seem to do the same ‘type’ of ads (girls dancing in bright undies with a boppy tune) but it clearly must work for them, and I love love love them too!

      • Probably mothers (aged like 35 upwards maybe). I feel they might think more into the ads then necessary! Also have you seen that new Bonds billboard saying Boobs… that may offend some more of their target audience, or even the public!

      • I just researched it, and behind that BOOBS campaign, it’s related to breast cancer research program. And it will all be revealed on oct 13. I guess bonds is trying to create an excitement, interesting. I’ll keep an eye on it hha

  3. I agree with what Linh was saying, that their ads are and have always been about fun and being playful. If it wasn’t an ad for underwear they wouldn’t be so ‘sexualised’ – but it’s an ad for underwear. It would almost seem odd to not show the underwear. I guess they could do things with ‘real’ bodies, but for me that never crossed my mind. They are targeting a younger audience though, so it’s probably something to think about.

    • Bonds does purposely have the word ‘fun’ in their approaches. i reckon there wasn’t any intention from Bonds for any inappropriate sexual imagery. Perhaps what ppl want is a different ad approach, sort of using other than female bodies. What would suits tho?

  4. As a bigger girl… This ad certainly does not make me get upset about my body. The only thing that ever upsets me is when the girls placed in underwear ads are of a unique slim body shape which is completely unachievable for girls with different body shapes. However i think Bond’s are consistent in choosing girls that are not too young, normal-fit body shape and avoid the “sexiness” that usually comes with underwear ads. I just feel like some people are too critical when it comes to anyone showing skin on TV.

    • That’s what I love about Bonds actually. Their models aren’t as skinny as victoria Secret’s models for instance. They’re sort of keeping it real as well as attractive to watch. people might be critical because they though that they’re helping plus size girls, but actually they don’t. Well anyway, glad you mentioned it. Thanks πŸ™‚

Any thoughts?

